4 Reasons why taking up a writing challenge is beneficial to you

It’s been a while since I have started this challenge. Today is the 15th day. What is special about his challenge is I write every day, no matter what the situations around me are. I write at least 500 words every day and then go to sleep. This has helped me in many ways. And today, I want to share my experience till now about this.

1.Sticking to the goal

I would find it a little hard when it came to writing, to stay on track with the progress that I want to make. Usually it is because of the unrealistic expectations and procrastination that happens in the initial phase of the writing project that I undertake. I spend a lot of time trying to narrate the scene to myself that by the time the narration is complete, the deadline I have set for myself would be near approaching and the words I have to write to complete that would be mammoth in size, due to which I used to give up. This happened for a long time. I was able to write less than 50,000 words in an entire year. But now, that I have taken up this challenge, I write every day. Be it in the bus, or during the breaks or at my place in the late hours of the night or the wee hours of the morning, I write. I make it a point to write it every day.

2.Consistency

Being a blogger doesn’t just mean gathering followers or publishing more posts. It means showing up regularly to perform. Or publishing at a regular interval. A friend of mine posts once in a month, while I struggle to do that. Some months are more inspirational and I post more. Some are not, and I end up posting less. This challenge has made sure that I show up every day, no matter what the circumstances. It made me show up every day and that is the takeaway from this.

3.Improving my thought process

When I was forced to publish one post every day and there was no prompt or a topic on which I could write on, I was forced to think out of the box. And came out it was one of my posts in the initial days of the challenge.

Read them here

  1. Day 3
  2. Day 4
  3. Day 5
  4. Day 6

I could see myself struggling for a story. If it was a normal day, when I didn’t take up this challenge, I didn’t bother much about trying to post. When I got a story, I slowly let it stew in my head and when I have a decent plotline, I tried writing it. Until then, it was a wait for something miraculous to happen. And obviously it didn’t help me in ways I wanted to.

4.Perception changes

Inspiration can come from anywhere. Inspiration can come from any object, person, scene, anything you name, you can find inspiration in it. Every day, as I struggled to find inspiration, I started seeing ordinary things in ways unexpected. The way of looking at things has changed and that has helped me a lot. When you look at things from a different perspective, the world looks beautiful. Everything has its own story and I tried capturing as many as I can. Why shouldn’t a shoe have a story? What does the shoe see if it does see? Questions that made me think a lot from a different perspective had given me ways to expand my thinking, and that too, for a story.

“Writing is an extreme privilege, but it’s also a gift. It’s a gift to yourself and it’s a gift of giving a story to someone”

-Amy Tan

You too can join the challenge here -> http://goinswriter.com/my500words/

Leave a Reply

