3 Reasons Writing challenge helped me

And for the last day, I have this to say. I want to tell how much this challenge has helped me. In ways that I wanted help.

A month ago, I was struggling to write every day. It was not a matter of time, but dedication. I tried writing after my work hours and I got something or the other to distract me. A good meal and anice walk around the block, ending up in a dessert, or a phone call that went too long or an argument that needs to be resolved. Something or the other was distracting me, or that is what I thought. There was a simple solution to this, which I didn’t see although it was in plain sight. I could write before I went to work. It involved me waking up earlier, but that was something I was already ready to do. Waking up early has been one of the resolutions I have taken a long time ago. Although I wake up only during few days of the week and that depends on how the previous night went. It was by chance and not by choice. And the days I wake up, I get something done. It wasn’t enough. I knew there was more that I could have done, but I settled for less. Then I found this challenge online. I can, with all the confidence, say that this challenge would help you make a change in your life.

How did it help me?

Create a routine for every day

Showing up every day to write is more important. Writing is an activity for the brain. You wouldn’t expect your muscles to be in the same shape after you have given up working out for a while. You need to spend some time to reach the stage you were before quitting. It needs warming up. And the same goes for writing. Writing every day, about 500 – 750 words,  will warm you up for the actual writing that you want to do.

 

And tracking across a calendar or taking up a challenge will create a routine every day. It is highly recommended that you develop a habit of writing if you are serious about taking it to the next level

Warms you up before writing

As I have already mentioned in the previous point, writing 500 words would take about 10 – 20 minutes. This is the time you need for warming up your brain and getting into the field of writing and then embarking on the wonderful journey that you are about to write.

Pushes you towards your goal

This is what exactly this writing challenge has shaped me for. When you have some challenge that is present, you would give more motivation and put in more effort to finish it. This happened to me. Some days, I ended up not writing in the morning and the writing was pushed to the night. I had no other way rather than to write before the day changes and  post it on the blog. If it was any other day, I would have slept and not bothered with it. But during the period of this challenge, I stayed up and slept only after I posted what I had to post for that day.

My posts have become regular, one a day, at a minimum. It also helped me keep up with my writing goals for my book.

This writing challenge has given me many benefits, and so it will for you. It is up to you to take the challenge. Come, take up the challenge. I’ll see you on the other side.

You can join the challenge here ->http://goinswriter.com/my500words/

 

Surya

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

